Austin Pow Wow

This was the essay I wrote for the Austin Pow Wow for Texas History. It was an extra credit assignment.

Austin Pow Wow Anish

At the Austin Pow Wow, we first went into the arena. It was filled with Natives Americans from many different tribes. The costumes people wore consisted of headdresses, tribal clothing, and make-up. Each of the natives had a number on a necklace. A ritual was happening, with some men beating on a drum and chanting.
A lady from the Air Force had sung the National Anthem. After that took place, this group of men sang the memorial song and another song. Someone from the San Antonio Pow Wow said a prayer short after. Everyone was standing up while these speeches were taking place.

While I was at the Austin Pow Wow, the flag ceremony (retiring of the colors) took place. During that, these two uniformed men with swords held them together to make an arch. A man in yellow I the front was kind of bouncing holding a brownish-orange flag, behind that a few holding the American flag, and other flag came walking through the arch.

I exited the building and saw many beautiful pieces of art. We walked around and admired the Indians work. The booths had drawings, dolls, necklaces, and more. There was one stall will these arrowheads on these leather strings with beads. I bought one thinking of how much time and effort it must have taken to make one. Each one had probably been made by hand.

Next to the art booths, there was a food court. There were these food trucks selling buffalo, hot dogs, and other Indian delicacies. I smelled lots of fresh meat and fried food. It looked like Indians loved this food just like the visitors. I wish I could have tasted some of food there.

The Austin Pow Wow was interesting experience; I had hoped I could have stayed there longer. I saw how their ceremonies were conducted, what they looked like, and their artwork.

Questions I had:
• Were these the Indians of only the Austin area?
• Are there many pure Indians ( ex: only Apaches)?
• Where do these Indians stay, do they have jobs or do they stay in reservations?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *